Sun Belt to add two new members

By Brett McMurphy | ESPN

Appalachian State and Georgia Southern will make the transition from the FCS to the FBS and join the Sun Belt Conference in 2015, sources told ESPN.

The two schools will be ineligible for the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) playoffs in 2013. After completing their transition to the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), they will be eligible for the Sun Belt football championship and bowl games in 2015, sources said.

An official announcement is expected this week, and both schools will be full-fledged Sun Belt members in all other sports in 2014, sources said.

The addition of Appalachian State and Georgia Southern will give the Sun Belt 10 football members in 2015 -- Arkansas State, Georgia State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama, Texas State, Troy and Western Kentucky...

Complete story: