PDA

View Full Version : Basketball Program Interest and Culture change

barrick
02-21-2013, 09:37 PM
I am a grad of Troy but do not live within hundreds of miles. I've come to realize the interest in the Troy basketball program is lacking. Since I am not a Alabama resident and never was, I wonder what the general interest in basketball is in the community and in the region? What is the level of interest in even playing basketball among the youth in Troy and Southern Alabama?

Lastly, I think a change of culture could really drive the basketball program. I am born and raised in Indianapolis. My family has been season ticket holders to Butler for well over a decade. When I was younger, Butler was a no-name program. After a coaching change, "The Butler Way" was born and changed the entire culture of the program. Needless to say, the program has had great success in the last decade.

When I think of Troy's BBall, I wonder why the program is so dismal. If it is general lack of interest on campus, in the community, etc., I can understand the program not developing further. But, Troy has built great facilities, and has a good sized enrollment (Butler built a program with an enrollment of less than 4K). There is no reason Troy's BBall should not be flourishing. I think there needs to be a serious culture change. Not only a coaching change, but a complete program overhaul. The Sun Belt might be the worse BBall conference in America and to not be able to compete in it is embarrassing.

Sorry to vent some of my frustration. But as someone who is watching from far away, I wonder what the locals and those closer to the program feel can be changed.

newnan trojan
02-21-2013, 11:49 PM
I agree 110%...

It's time to get our BB program in gear! I'm tired of this mess. If we had a good BB program coupled with a good football no telling were we would be... Of the 3 big sports this is by far where we are lacking.... And it starts with maestri...

Troy87
02-22-2013, 06:56 AM
barrick,