PDA

View Full Version : Dixie

SOTStrumpet
12-24-2012, 02:44 AM
I'm new to the Troy community and just found out that Troy's fight song used to be Dixie. Why doesn't the SOTS play it now? At least as a stand tune.

TrojanFanatic
12-24-2012, 11:55 AM
SOTS Plays it as a part of pregame, but it was changed to be politically correct.

redwaver
12-24-2012, 01:05 PM
SOTS Plays it as a part of pregame, but it was changed to be politically correct.
I hope I live to see the day this politically correct crap is put to rest. We are Americans.....just Americans, one word!

Doug4Troy
12-24-2012, 03:11 PM
They play a few bars of it every pre-game... why do we need more?

redwaver
12-24-2012, 03:17 PM
They play a few bars of it every pre-game... why do we need more?
Because if we have to explain you wouldn't understand!:rollinglaugh:

Bubba the Trojan
12-24-2012, 03:26 PM
The opening line from Dixie is the major theme of the "Trojan Fanfare". It is a very good and effective way to get that part of the University's history in what is one of the largest pregame ceromonies around. Dr. Long did a wonderful job writing the "Fanfare".

Doug4Troy
12-24-2012, 03:32 PM
Because if we have to explain you wouldn't understand!:rollinglaugh:

Then I am grateful for my ignorance!

redwaver
12-24-2012, 03:45 PM
Then I am grateful for my ignorance!
I will join you in your bliss of ignorance when they decide Gang Rap is disrespectful and band it as well. I've often wondered how you band just the parts of history that some dislike and where you go to do that. Just sayin!

Doug4Troy
12-24-2012, 03:56 PM
I will join you in your bliss of ignorance when they decide Gang Rap is disrespectful and band it as well. I've often wondered how you band just the parts of history that some dislike and where you go to do that. Just sayin!