PDA

View Full Version : AL LUCAS NIGHT

matttsu40
10-25-2005, 07:25 PM
Hope everyone made it to AL LUCAS night Thursday. It was quite humbling to see the family of AL LUCAS on the field to accept tribute memorabilia of his playing days at Troy State. I had the pleasure of playing with AL for 4 years and he was such a great leader and friend. Rest in peace Al.

Rette
10-26-2005, 02:43 PM
I am new to Trojan Football. (2002) I understand Al was awarded the "Buck Buchanon Award" which is given to the outstanding D1AA lineman. But, I notice in some pictures of him he is running with the ball.
Tell me about Al Lucas.

kiwan
10-26-2005, 03:26 PM
Ever heard of William "The Refrigerator" Perry. Al would lineup in the backfield in short yardage situations. He did a heck of a job running the ball.

matttsu40
10-26-2005, 04:24 PM
Al Lucas was best described physically as a "specimen". When he arrived on campus in '96, he immediately saw playing time because of sheer talent and size. He was the hardest worker I have ever seen and by his senior year had developed into a force to be reconed with. He was only 6'2" but his 300 pounds was all muscle. Yes, he was so talented and big that we used him on our "big" team offense. If we were inside the 3 yard line, the whole team would chant, BIG! and Al trotted on the field to the roar of everyone to take a simple dive handoff. He always scored, and the few times he didn't, we would try again and of course he would score. You would expect Al to be a hard guy off the field, but to my surprise, time on the bus with Al was filled with his high pitched sqeals notifying us that hard candy was being thrown threw the bus at warp speed. Of course, most of the time hitting my head and many others. The laughs I will never forget. Al was a legend.

TrojanWar
10-26-2005, 04:29 PM
Thanks Matt! That was an awesome post!

matttsu40
10-26-2005, 04:33 PM