PDA

View Full Version : Crime Wave

TrojanWarrior418
04-14-2012, 08:00 AM
Now I know the reasoning behind the saying "ignorance is bliss". Over the past month or so it seems like every other day the City of Troy is having to deal with crime after crime. First is was the sexual assaults in Hunter's Mountain where two women were victims and the suspect is still out there (with a $25,000 reward out there for his capture), then a student was robbed late night on campus outside the Math and Science Complex (to which there has been an arrest), then shots fired last Friday in a trailer park, now a home invasion in another Mobile Home park where police have arrested a 14-year-old (http://www.troymessenger.com/2012/04/13/one-home-invasion-suspect-arrested/)

What in the world is going on down there? Yes there was crime down there when I was a student, I can't tell you how many times that string of gas stations on Brundidge street got robbed while I was down there. And I know just because a crime happens and doesn't make the paper or television it's not to say it didn't happen, in fact I'm glad the media is covering these stories because it's bringing this problem to our attention and maybe something will be done about it.

Or should I say I hope something is done about it? Because if this trend continues this could hurt enrollment at Troy University, would you want to send your child to a school where they could be robbed at gun point if they are out too late on campus? Or let them live in a city where a rapist is out on the loose?

I really help the Boys and Girls Club of Troy is helping out the younger kids by keeping them off the streets and out of trouble. It's too late for this latest round of riff raff. The only thing we can do for them is send them on a tour of Kilby Prison in Montgomery and let them figure out if they get sent there they'll be the bottom of the prison food chain and won't be so tough to those guys in there.