PDA

View Full Version : Olmstead's Blocked Punt Was A Punt



BMarkey
09-15-2005, 09:24 PM
I read where Thomas Olmstead's one punt - which was blocked - was not ruled a punt because he never made contact with the ball.

Thanks to the coach's show on SunSports (3:30 p.m. Thursdays on DirecTV Channel 632) and DirecTV TiVO, I discovered the initial call was correct. It was a punt.

Of course, the ball traveled about one foot into the body of one of two UAB blockers, but it did come off Olmstead's foot. Barely.

I wonder whether the stats will be revised again, based on this video.

TUTrojan
09-16-2005, 07:50 AM
When I watched the replay the other night, it was obvious that the ball left his foot and was blocked.

That call was whack.

Doesn't hurt his stats since Team gets credit for the punt though...

Not sure why they changed that call unless it was a Homer call to help him, unless they were trying to use an Enron accounting trick to understate our rushing yards that much more!

BMarkey
09-16-2005, 09:29 AM
How can the team get credit for the punt when it wasn't counted as a punt? It was counted as a run for a loss.

TUTrojan
09-16-2005, 09:40 AM
The team would have got credit for it, not TO.

Just not sure why they changed the call after the fact...