PDA

View Full Version : Is anybody else worried?

remmyj
09-20-2009, 10:35 PM
That Troy is hurting its own image academically in order to make more money? I'm a Troy student (Montgomery Campus), but it seems that they keep opening up these satellite campuses all over the place and it just looks bad.

I have no issue with Troy offering online courses. Auburn, UA, and several other flagship schools have very extensive DL programs. Penn State and University of Illinois both have global campuses and offer several online degree programs. Even MTSU, whose fans constantly criticize Troy, offers online degree programs.

I just don't want to see Troy turn into the public version of DeVry, opening up satellite campuses inside shopping malls. They need to limit the satellites to only military bases for servicemen and women who wish to attend an eArmyU school, and start promoting the main campuses in AL.

Instead of opening and promoting these satellite campuses, Troy's academic directors should focus on transforming the school into a research university.

Your thoughts?

If anyone here works for Troy, please mention this to them. :rolleyes:

CardinalBlackTrojan
09-21-2009, 12:01 AM
I agree

JPSousa1898
09-21-2009, 12:58 AM
Second!

Swordsman
09-21-2009, 03:04 PM
I completely agree!

Spiritual_Trojan
10-25-2009, 01:07 AM
They have a branch near my home town in Marianna now. Its not an independent branch, it's housed within Chipola college, an up and coming college/university. They way the are doing it there is it's Troy staff and troy curriculum merged into CC so it's helping Troy by getting us more exposure and providing more jobs and helping Chipola by instantly allowing to provide a bachelors in Psychology that would have taken them years to running and accredited.

TUrocks
10-25-2009, 09:03 AM